The Advertising Standards Bureau (the Bureau) manages the complaint resolution process of the advertising self-regulation system. Our vision is to be the foremost authority in Australia for adjudication of complaints about advertising and marketing communications.

The Bureau functions as secretariat for the Advertising Standards Board and the Advertising Claims Board – the two independent bodies were established to determine consumer and competitive complaints against the advertising self-regulatory Codes. 

Our purpose

The Bureau exists to give voice to consumer values and guide industry in maintaining decent, honest advertising aligning with prevailing community values.

The objects for which the Bureau was established are:

  • to establish and monitor a self-regulatory system to regulate advertising standards in Australia
  • to promote confidence in and respect for the general standards of advertising on the part of the community and the legislators
  • to explain the role of advertising in a free enterprise system, and
  • to run whatever other regulatory system it may be contracted to run from time to time. 

Board of Directors

A Board of Directors (Bureau Board) governs the Bureau. The Bureau Board works within the objects set out in the Bureau’s constitution to develop and monitor delivery of the strategic directions of the Bureau and ensure high governance standards.

The Bureau Board places the highest priority on preserving the integrity of the advertising self-regulation system. It insists on absolute separation between its work and the work of the Advertising Standards Board and the Advertising Claims Board.

The current members of the Bureau Board are:

David Scribner Chief Executive Officer, True Local (Chair)

Andrew Caie  Global Marketing and Customer Experience Director, Inchcape PLC

Matthew Hall Managing Director, Artifex Advisors

Louise Eyres Executive Marketing Adviser, Australian Sports Commission

Vince Meoli Commercial Director, HYLAND



The Bureau has eight staff which includes the Chief Executive Officer, an Operations Manager, two Case Managers, a Communications Manager, a Legal Manager, a Project and Communications Assistant and an Administration Manager. 

A report on the operations of the Bureau is published annually in its Review of Operations.