Independent Reviewers

Victoria Rubensohn AM MAICD

Appointed 2011

Victoria Rubensohn is Consumer Director of Communications Compliance Ltd, Member of the Code Authority of ADMA/ Data Governance Australia and since 1991 has been Principal of international communications consultancy Omni Media, which specialises in communications/media regulatory policy.  She is Director of the Australian Communications Consumer Action Network, the peak consumer body in the communications sphere. She is a member of the Advisory Board of the Centre for Media Transition at UTS.

Victoria is Chair of Communications Law Centre Ltd, founding director/Company Secretary of Media Access Australia/Centre for Inclusive Design. She has worked in radio and television in Australia and the USA and is a Member of the Royal Television Society (UK). Victoria has worked extensively internationally in communications institution-building and is co-creator of the United Nations Convention on Disaster Communications.

Victoria has chaired government and non-government bodies and committees including:

  • Convenor of the Classification Review Board
  • Chair of the National Film and Sound Archive
  • Chair of the Telephone Information Services Standards Council for 15 years
  • Chair of the Federal Government’s Copyright Convergence Group
  • Chair of the Federal Government’s Digital Radio Advisory Committee

Victoria has been a Member of the Australian Broadcasting Tribunal and a Member of the Immigration Review Tribunal. She is former President of the Communications and Media Law Association and has also been a Member of the Federal Government’s Copyright Law Review Committee.

Victoria was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2004.

Victoria holds a Bachelor of Arts (Sydney), Master of Arts [Government] (Sydney), Bachelor of Laws (UNSW) and Master of Human Rights (Sydney).

Robin Creyke AO

Appointed 2015

Law and public administration has been a focus of Emeritus Professor Robin Creyke’s practice, research and teaching. She is an emeritus professor at the Australian National University and a senior (sessional) member of the ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal.

Until recently, Ms Creyke was a senior (executive) member of the Administrative Appeals Tribunal, as well as spending 11 years as a member of the Administrative Review Council (1999-2010) and five years as Commissioner of the ACT Independent Competition and Regulatory Commission (ICRC 2001-2006). Her work as an Integrity Adviser with the Australian Tax Office (2006-2009) was instrumental in increasing the robustness of the agency’s integrity framework.

Since 2012, Professor Creyke has been a member of the Federal Litigation Committee of the Law Council of Australia, which keeps her informed of relevant and current activities in administrative law. While at the ICRC her work involved development of consumer codes as well as development of a framework for the ICRC’s complaints mechanism.

Professor Creyke has developed a specialty interest in tribunals and government and is recognised as a national and international expert in this area. This expertise is reflected in the long list of publications credited to her. In the area of administrative law alone she has written or edited 10 books, two monographs and over 50 chapters and articles, more than 40 of which were in referred journals or invited publications.

In the 2018 Queen’s Birthday Honours List, Professor Creyke was awarded an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to administrative law, and to education, as an academic and author, to public administration and tribunal practice, and to professional bodies.

Professor Creyke lives in Canberra and in her spare time enjoys cooking, gardening, bushwalking and relaxing with friends.

Former Independent Reviewers

The Hon Deirdre O'Connor was appointed as the first Independent Reviewer in April 2008.  Ad Standards appointed Mr Mick Palmer, AO APM, as an alternate Independent Reviewer in September 2009, to ensure the operation of the review system in the event of Ms O'Connor's absence.

Ms O'Connor and Mr Palmer retired from their positions as Independent Reviewers in 2011. Their positions were taken up by the Emeritus Professor Dennis Pearce AO and Ms Victoria Rubensohn AM. Professor Pearce retired from the position in 2015 and his position was taken up by Robin Creyke.