Media releases

New Ad Standards Board members appointed

The Chair of Ad Standards, Mr David Scribner, today announced the appointment of two new non-executive directors to the Board of Ad Standards, effective immediately.

Welcoming Ms Kirsty Muddle and Ms Jenni Dill, Mr Scribner noted the high-level expertise each will contribute to the governance of Australia’s independent advertising complaints adjudicator.
“The new appointments will add to the depth of knowledge on the Board at a time when we are building a strong and sustainable future amidst emerging advertising issues and technological changes,” said Mr Scribner.

Kirsty is the Managing Director and one of the founding partners of Cummins&Partners, Australia’s largest independent agency. Ms Muddle has championed programmes that encourage cultural and socioeconomic diversity in the advertising industry. She is also a company director and Board member of Cummins&Partners.

The appointment of Ms Jenni Dill brings further high-level expertise to the Ad Standards’ Board. Ms Dill is a commercially-driven marketing leader with over 25 years’ experience across marketing, innovation and sales in Australia and internationally. Currently, she is Chief Marketing Officer for McDonald’s Australia.

Mr Scribner said the Ad Standards Board of Directors places the highest priority on the independence of the advertising self-regulation system. “The absolute separation between the work of the Ad Standards Board and the work of the Ad Standards Community Panel which adjudicates consumer complaints ensures the integrity of the system,” said Mr Scribner.

He also thanked outgoing Board member Mr Mathew Hall for his expertise and contribution to the success of self-regulation and a complaints system that is independent, responsive, transparent, efficient and accessible.